Home » Uncategorized » Here’s what I think of Ayn Rand’s Objectivism

Here’s what I think of Ayn Rand’s Objectivism

rand

Ayn Rand is for children – The cult of Ayn Rand – Atlas Mugged

also relevant:

Psychopath test: 18% – You are warm and empathic with a heightened awareness of social responsibility and a strong sense of conscience. You like to carefully weigh up the pros and cons of a situation before you act and are generally averse to taking risks. You are very much a ‘people person’ and dislike conflict. ‘Do unto others…’ are your watchwords. But, although you avoid hurting others, those residing at the higher end of the psychopathic spectrum might not be as considerate, so stay vigilant to avoid being hurt unnecessarily.

EDIT: According to society perhaps I am not “psychopathic” enough because I am sensitive and think society is sick, and if I have to be adjusted to it to be considered sane or normal, I’ll pass. Yes, I’m aware that some people consider psychopathy and sociopathy to be different while others use the terms interchangeably. I think psychopaths are more reckless in their violence while sociopaths blend in and use others for violence by-proxy, such as in politics soldiers are the leaders’ pawns for murder. Or are those the psychopaths? Anyway, one is said to be caused by nature and the other by nurture.

America: Breeding Ground for Psychopaths

11 thoughts on “Here’s what I think of Ayn Rand’s Objectivism

      • For what it’s worth, I don’t think Objectivism can be construed as being pro-murder, at least not any more than imperialist neo-liberalism in general is pro-murder. But it is very sociopathic in nature. The mass of (simplistic) writings about metaphysics and epistemology obscure that fact.

    • I don’t know what political stance would be explicitly pro-murder either except for a few outspoken people here and there, but I want to show you the “pro-consensual murder” article, I think some kinksters would be on board with this esp if there was a contract made: http://www.3quarksdaily.com/3quarksdaily/2010/12/murders-monsters-mirrors.html

      Someone on their blog once posted about how it should be totally okay to murder people as long as you went to court first and “proved” how that person deserved to die.

      • “I don’t know what political stance would be explicitly pro-murder either except for a few outspoken people here and there,”
        Oh, there’s plenty of people who think bringing about people’s death can be justified by a greater good.

        “but I want to show you the “pro-consensual murder” article, I think some kinksters would be on board with this esp if there was a contract made: http://www.3quarksdaily.com/3quarksdaily/2010/12/murders-monsters-mirrors.html

        I hate kink, of course, but I am sympathetic to the argument that this is basically a very bizarre assisted suicide.

        “Someone on their blog once posted about how it should be totally okay to murder people as long as you went to court first and “proved” how that person deserved to die.”
        Isn’t that already what we’re doing with the death penalty though?

      • How do you reconcile that with the fact that consent can’t be given prospectively? With consensual murder being a form of assisted suicide wouldn’t there have to be some witnesses to the agreement?
        Also, no – I mean vigilantes going out themselves and killing whoever they thought deserved to die, with the court’s permission.

      • “How do you reconcile that with the fact that consent can’t be given prospectively?”
        To be fair, I did assume the person still wanted to die when he was killed. This may be incorrect.

        “With consensual murder being a form of assisted suicide wouldn’t there have to be some witnesses to the agreement?”
        Yes, I suppose that makes sense.

        “Also, no – I mean vigilantes going out themselves and killing whoever they thought deserved to die, with the court’s permission.”
        I am not a fan of drawing lines between vigilantes and the justice system. To me they are all brutes, but at least vigilantes are not usually doing it out of greed or power.

    • Re: being sociopathic but not pro-murder, one of the skills of sociopaths is that they can blend in. Not all of them kill, but especially in politics I think they can and do exercise violence by-proxy (i.e. soldiers as pawns). That way, they don’t have to get their hands dirty.

    • Funny, a man today wrote about “assisted suicide” in regards to fighting in war:
      “My father helped a lot of Nazis die for Hitler. If people want to die for someone, or something, I believe people should receive all the assistance they require, in their pursuit of giving their lives for whatever bullshit they believe.”

Leave a Reply

