Home » Uncategorized » The Inner Light doctrine.

The Inner Light doctrine.

The Prime Directive

Political positions are mostly taken as a priori. Few people bother to examine the source of people’s beliefs on the subject, unless it is a particularly interesting fringe (like Christian right-wing extremists).

I would like to propose a hypothesis on why people adopt the political beliefs they do: I propose that they depends on one’s position on certain fundamental questions of social ethics, and that social ethics informs one’s politics, in the same way that epistemic beliefs (such as skepticism or emotional anti-rationalism) inform one’s position on various issues such as religion or alternative medicine. I would also like to discuss the Market Anarchist perspective on those fundamental questions.

My position is that the way we grow up and are educated, and our early experiences with people, in short our mental attitude towards others, mold our sense of social ethics, and that social ethics determine our political beliefs. Here…

View original post 952 more words

10 thoughts on “The Inner Light doctrine.

    • I know I’m reading realllly far back since I’m gonna hold any more questions until I’m familiar with what you’ve already written. There was another old entry where I thought,”Hey, I know he wrote a post recently that contradicts some of the things in there.” I don’t agree 100% nor pretend to completely understand everything – relogging doesn’t mean endorsement – but it’s still quality stuff!

      • Yea I mean I started the blog as a market anarchist and I wasn’t a feminist or an antinatalist at the time. You gotta realize that my blog has been going on for eight years, and I’ve moved forward a great deal in that time. I’ve kinda relegated everything from the first two years under the carpet because I’m embarassed by some of it. lol

      • Embarassed? Pshh! If you think that’s bad you should have seen all the entries I deleted/revised from my blog (I’m now staying away from tumblr in order to put more effort into it). And what’s so bad about market anarchism? I see your stuff goes way over many people’s heads as it is (judging also by some of the comments you’ve gotten).

      • Well, it’s not the worse thing you can be. It’s just a little embarrassing compared to where I am now.

        Also, in this entry you linked to, I was still a compatibilist (determinism and free will are just two sides of the same coin sort of thing). Now I’ve written many entries for determinism and against free will, as you know.

      • Gotcha. It figures the old posts have closed comments.

        How does will play a role in determinism? I mean will as volition not as “free choice.” Do you think of it more in terms of consent (freedom from ___) or becoming aware of one’s own nature, motivations, and conditioning?

      • I’m not sure- can you define volition? I haven’t really seen any good definition for it. I’ve usually seen it used as a synonym for free will or agency, and I don’t believe in either.

        “If I had a dollar for every time pro sex industry advocates accused antis of being ugly, jealous sheeple playing the victim card, I’d be rich.”

        Why do you hate men so much?

        😉

      • Purposeful or conscious decision-making (as a cognitive function and having goals) or commitment to a course of action – as done by the individual.

        Why not? It’s not stopping me from recognizing the few men that don’t act creepy 😛

      • “Purposeful or conscious decision-making (as a cognitive function and having goals) or commitment to a course of action – as done by the individual.”

        Then yes I think being conscious of what motivates us is really crucial to that. It’s no good to commit to a course of action which is ultimately self-defeating. I don’t know how it relates to determinism though- although it’s certainly part of determinism.

      • Also re: The Manichean Worldview — ““Bad people” are ugly, stupid and ill-tempered.” If I had a dollar for every time pro sex industry advocates accused antis of being ugly, jealous sheeple playing the victim card, I’d be rich.

Leave a Reply

